Absolute Moral Authority

Because plain old moral authority just wasn’t good enough — a mesablue production

Poochie

Posted by Wickedpinto on August 30, 2007

I have a reason to dwell on poochies, but it’s not my place.

Anyways, two comments by the same person at the Hostages, were beautiful, inspirational and true in a way that man can’t understand.

Rainbow Bridge

Just this side of heaven is a place called Rainbow Bridge.

When an animal dies that has been especially close to someone here, that pet goes to Rainbow Bridge. There are meadows and hills for all of our special friends so they can run and play together. There is plenty of food, water and sunshine, and our friends are warm and comfortable.

All the animals who had been ill and old are restored to health and vigor; those who were hurt or maimed are made whole and strong again, just as we remember them in our dreams of days and times gone by. The animals are happy and content, except for one small thing; they each miss someone very special to them, who had to be left behind.

They all run and play together, but the day comes when one suddenly stops and looks into the distance. His bright eyes are intent; His eager body quivers. Suddenly he begins to run from the group, flying over the green grass, his legs carrying him faster and faster.

You have been spotted, and when you and your special friend finally meet, you cling together in joyous reunion, never to be parted again. The happy kisses rain upon your face; your hands again caress the beloved head, and you look once more into the trusting eyes of your pet, so long gone from your life but never absent from your heart.

Then you cross Rainbow Bridge together….

Author unknown…

  • Will Rogers said something to the effect of, “If dogs don’t go to heaven, I want to go where they go.”
  • I second that.
  •  that was MOMinuteman.

    His moniker might make him sound like some right wing extremist, but he understands poochies so quickly and easily that the reast of the hostages (there are 6 of us, and all but one are dog people) couldn’t respond.

    MOMinutemen, I might disagree with you in the future about other things, but you said it.  You said it best about mans best “friend.”  I personaly don’t think they are a friend, they are a family member, and we are their pack.

    Thank you VERY much for those reminders MOMinuteman.

    Thank You VERY MUCH for those references.

    11 Responses to “Poochie”

    1. eddiebear said

      As you know, my parents lost their dog a few months ago. It still gets to them. In fact, my brother mentioned that he was talking to another O-3 one day, and they both starting welling up talking about their passed dogs. I think that hurt him more than some of the women trouble he’s had over the years.

    2. I lost bandit when I was about 9 years old, and knowing that my parents were responsible still makes me cry.

      In fact, my brother and I call mom and dad “the executioners” whehever we talk about pets.

      Bandit was THE PERFECT DOG! He was STUPID! oh, he was stupid, but he loved us, he would defend his pack no matter what, and he was a great dog, even though he was WAY to big for our property.

      He would take off for a run, but he would always come back home, cuz he knew his pack.

      Unfortunately my macky, MY (not my family’s) macky took off looking for me while I was hanging out with a friend, and my brother didn’t realize that Mackey was MY dog, not OURS.

      Mackey ran away from my brother looking for me, and he was either stolen (not likely) or killed on the road (most likely) while I spent a few days at my friends place.

      Mackey was an interesting dog, and I loved him, but I’m sorry, Bandit was the best.

    3. I don’t believe in heaven, but if there is more, I want to spend that “more” with bandit and with mackey.

    4. bmac said

      My wife and I don’t have kids, at least not yet, but we have a chocolate lab, and a german short haired pointer, both about 10 years old. About 2 years ago, the GSP was diagnosed with cancer of the lymph nodes, and given 3-6 monthes to live. We had the option of chemo, to buy maybe 3-6 more monthes, at a cost of about 5 grand. We opted for the chemo. Best 5 grand I ever spent. Over 2 years later, he’s still doing great, far beyond the vets expectations.

    5. bmac said

      Not exactly sure what that had to do with this post, I just fricken love dogs.

    6. Thats why it was related to the post BMAC.

    7. bmac said

      Yeah, I was a little foggy this morning, please dis-regard the retarded post #5.

    8. You’re welcome, WP. I can’t imagine life without our furry, 4-legged kids. First thing every morning is “Dad Time”. As soon as I start to stir, Josie climbs up next to me in bed, puts her head on my chest and is all “Pet me you fool.” No better way to start the day.

    9. ariadisfida said

      i like the word ‘poochies’.

    10. Wickedpinto said

      When I would house-sit for my brother and his wife, their little girl (who has passed) would harrass me as I slept.

      I had to help her onto the bed on which I was sleeping, and I remember one time, when she (the pooch) wanted my attention.

      My childhood dog was a boxer great dane, so it’s easy to ignore simple demands from pets, but Cydney was a strong little bitch.

      what she did is she squared up on my shoulders, didn’t lick me once, she was just mean.
      she would press in on my shoulders, and bark. Press, and bark.

      I finaly woke up, I don’t know if I ever figured out what she was worried about, but she was a fantastic dog.

      I know that your mom and dad miss you cid, and thought they might not think so, I miss you too.

      You were a beautiful and wonderful pooch.

    11. I love dogs, in fact I love them more than people.

    Leave a Reply

         
