Absolute Moral Authority

Because plain old moral authority just wasn’t good enough — a mesablue production

Just a Video

Posted by Wickedpinto on February 4, 2011

In, I think ’92 I went and saw Van Halen in concert at what is now “tweeter center” I think, maybe it’s still the old “World Theater.”  Was awesome, nearly got into a fight, the woman behind us kept buying us beer for some reason, I’ve never seen one of my obese (He’s a fat pig) friends so active in my life, it almost looked like he had biceps.

And then after rocking out to, I forget the song, when the crowd was cranking, the stage and the ambient lights went black, and then you heard someone fingering a guitar, and then just as Sammy started the first syllable of the first lyric, a spotlight dropped on him and the red rocker as he saying “Where Eagles Fly.”  (one of my favorite songs btw)

The stage and ambient light where still black other than the spotlight, until the drum roll “DUH DUH DUH! DUHDUHDUH!”  then there were pyro’s and eddies old ass jumping into the stream and Alex just POUNDING away with all of the theatricality of any drummer, and then again black during the bridge.

Great song, an it was a great performance.

Well, that one is Youtube only, great vid BTW, but if you don’t want to roll over to youtube.

[update] apparently neither vid can be embedded. eff it, It’s a great song, just go to youtube and listen to it.
Since I had to put in an update, I figured I would inlclude a story.

When I was a kid, my brother was in the service, I flew down for a sorta mini vacation to spend time with my brother, and then keep him company while we drove back home. For some reason, though I spent a lot of time away from the house when I was young, my mom kinda got a little crazy cuz her baby (me) was gonna be flying all alone, and what if something happened to both of her boys and all that crazy stuff that moms do. Mom couldn’t stand there when I board the plane, it was the very first time that I had been on an airplane outside of her womb (the in womb story is actually kinda funny, though I was too busy gestating to actually remember it.) and so I turned to pops and I asked him why he wasn’t worried like mom was? Pops said something that is so to the point I always remember it.

“Kid?” (he always calls me kid, or son, or something like that, I don’t think anyone used my actual name until I joined the Marine Corps.) “If you were in a car and something happened, I know you can walk, but I don’t know how far so I would have to spend everyday hoping and worrying. If you were on a boat and something happened, I know you can swim, so I would spend everyday hoping and worrying, but I know you can’t fly, so when you get there, you get there, there’s nothing either of us can do.”

Leave a Reply

 
